Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Butterscotch Frozen Yoghurt

The other day I broke into my cook book drawer. Most of the time, I get my recipes from the interwebs. I really enjoy getting recipes from blogs. I know they’ve been tested. I love looking at the pictures and reading the stories that go along with them. Sometimes, I have something in mind and Uncle Google is my best friend. And other times I just like to cross something off my ever-growing “Must Make” list. But I got a couple of cookbooks for Christmas and I realised that I’ve been neglecting my collection. There are some real gems in there, like the Ben & Jerry’s Cookbook!

The other day a friend was coming for dinner. She was bringing dessert, but mentioned that it would go great with ice cream. I could have picked some up from the store, but I thought it would be more fun to make my own. Given that this was an add-on to dessert, I decided to try and do it a little lighter. First I needed a base. So I dusted off my Ben & Jerry’s cookbook and used Sweet Base 2 as a template.

Ready to start

Sweet base 2 normally requires 2 cups of cream, 2/3 cup of half and half, and 3/4 cup sugar – simple enough. I did it with 1 cup cream, 1 cup greek yoghurt, and 2/3 cup milk (plus 2 tbs non-fat milk powder). It’s super simple: mix the cream and the yoghurt, add the sugar a bit at a time, stirring till dissolved. Add the milk powder to the milk and then add it to the cream mixture. Churn in ice cream machine and voila!
churning the ice cream
With the ice cream churning, it was time for the butterscotch, which meant that I got to cross something off of my “must make” list.

Making ButterscotchI used this recipe from Haley at The Domestic Rebel. It was simple enough (I like simple). Melt butter, add sugar, then cream. Let simmer for 10 minutes. Remove from heat, add vanilla and sea salt. Done and dusted – no candy thermometer needed!

With Butterscotch and ice cream done, all that’s left is to combine them and freeze. And you have a wonderful sweet treat all by itself or balled on top of a lovely fruit crumble (as was our case – I totally recommend it!) The beauty of this combination is the slight tang of the yoghurt that cuts the sweetness of the butterscotch. It got 2 big thumbs up from our friends. Here’s hoping you like it too =)

 

3 comments on “Butterscotch Frozen Yoghurt

  1. Patty
    January 28, 2013

    Would I need to let the butterscotch cool down before mixing with ice-cream? I’m making it very soon!

    • Jessi
      January 28, 2013

      Some – it can’t be scalding, but warm is ok.

  2. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 28, 2013 by in Recipes and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

