Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Healthy Stoemp Experiment

Part of living in Belgium is getting to enjoy their wonderful food. They’ve got the best in chocolate, waffles, french fries, and beer – oh and speculoos (Biscoff), don’t get me started on the speculoos. Belgium also has some great traditional dishes. My favourite is Stoemp. It’s mashed potatoes, sausage, and a special sauce. The mashed potatoes always have an extra vegetable or two mashed in with them; the sausage is big and hearty; and the sauce, well everybody loves a secret sauce. It’s a perfect Winter meal. And though it’s not exactly health food, it is a meal I love, so I thought I’d try to make it a little bit healthier. Plus, February is National Potato Month – so bring on the spuds!

First I boiled up the potatoes (a mix of red and white – skins on). Then I added the vegetables – carrots and broccoli for me. veg prepped
I added them to the boiling potatoes with about 10 minutes to go.Add veg to potatoes
Time to get started on the sausages. To keep this meal light and healthy, I went for my favourite turkey sausages.
sausages
With the sausages cooking, it’s time to mash, mash, mash. I’m not a fan of lumpy potatoes (for a creamier mash, add a couple of heaping tbs of greek yoghurt. For taste, be sure to add a good shake of salt and garlic powder.)
Mash mash mash

And there you have it – a healthier mashed potato + a healthier sausage = a healthier stoemp and a happy Jessi. Hope it makes you happy too =)
Healthy Stoemp

And now you…

What’s your favourite Winter dish?

3 comments on “Healthy Stoemp Experiment

  1. Patty
    February 7, 2013

    I like the idea of a healthier mash, and I’ll give that a go. But as to sausages, sorry, they have to go – I’ll have a piece of meat instead …

    • Jessi
      February 7, 2013

      Fair enough – I have to confess: I love my turkey and chicken sausages! =)

  2. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays « Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 6, 2013 by in Dinner, Recipes and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

