Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Why I Brush My Teeth Standing on One Leg

That’s right, I brush my teeth standing on one leg – usually in a piqué position. I like to pretend I look like this:

Source: zsazsabellagio.blogspot.com via Sarah on Pinterest

I mean, I used to dance right:

kiddie dancing

Chances are that I look more like this:

But that’s not why I brush my teeth standing on one leg. I stand on one leg because I run. Now I know you’re thinking – what?! But it’s true. I stand on one leg because when I’m running and I’m tired and I slip on the sidewalk, I want my neurons to be well trained in refinding my balance – saving both my ankles and my knees. Not only that, but you’ll be strengthening your core muscles and improving your balance.

In Gretchen Reynolds’s book The First 20 Minutes, she dispels the myths that running is bad for your knees. In fact, as I’ve posted about before, running- especially consistent training, is good for your knees. Sudden changes in training though, large increases in miles or speed can lead to injury. Because of this, it is important to pay attention to your ligaments, increase speed and distance gradually, and train your neurons to find their balance, so that when you’re tired it is second nature. And, as she points out, it’ll give your spouse a nice giggle in the morning…

So, here’s a simple New Year’s Resolution to add to your list and likely to make a real difference without much effort at all.

4 comments on “Why I Brush My Teeth Standing on One Leg

  1. imarunner2012
    February 22, 2013

    I do this sometimes also to help develop my balance. It’s also supposed to help strengthen tendons and muscles in your leg.

    • Jessi
      February 22, 2013

      Indeed and in addition it helps train the neurons that signal to your brain that you are in balance. it’s great practice.

  2. Leah
    February 22, 2013

    I love this – such a small move that can make such a huge difference over time! I’m definitely going to give it a try tonight. 🙂

  3. Pingback: The Power of Availability | Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 22, 2013 by in Fitness and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

