Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Bakemasters February – Cupcakes & Conversation

Cupcake Creations
This month’s Bakemasters Soirée was an excuse to play with cupcakes and eat a lot of cheese. You see, it’s still cold here – unusual perhaps for Brussels, which typically has one long wet season with a warm week or two in the Summer and a cold week or two in the Winter. Whatever the reason for the extended permafrost that we seem to be experiencing (didn’t they get Phil’s memo on Spring?!), it served as a perfect excuse to have fondue. I love melted cheese!

Normally I buy the packets, pre-made just melt…

46-fondue-savoyarde-saveur-antan-400g-260x260

They’re easy and always delicious. They use three amazing cheeses and they never forget the kirsch. But this time I thought I’d try my hand at mixing up the cheese myself. I mean, how hard could it be?!

Fondue

Apparently harder than I thought. I stirred and stirred and stirred (for almost an hour and a half), but somehow the cheese and the wine just never quite came together. It still tasted good, but it looked more than a little bit weird. Next time fondue, next time – you will NOT defeat me! =p

Anyway, cheese eaten, it was time to move on to the main event – cupcakes and cakes pops =) I made chocolate, white chocolate, and peanut butter cupcakes. Then I made chocolate sour cream, white chocolate buttercream, peanut butter buttercream, and speculoos buttercream frostings – yum yum! We used my single serving cake pop tutorial to make cake pops. We stuffed cup cakes with each and every frosting. And then we decorated and decorated and decorated. It was lots of fun =) Here are mine. I made an owl, a flower, and a chesire cat. What do you think?

My cupcakes

6 comments on “Bakemasters February – Cupcakes & Conversation

  1. Eleenie
    February 25, 2013

    Heehee, I like the owl! 😉

  2. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays | Doctorate Housewife

  3. EmmaNutrition
    February 26, 2013

    Let me know if you figure out the secret to fondue making 😉

  4. Pingback: Speculoos Oreo Truffles | Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 25, 2013 by in Bakemasters and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

