Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Happy Pi Day!

3.14… anyone remember how to find the area of a circle? Don’t worry, though this is officially Pi Day, it’s also unofficially Pi(e) Day and so the trick is not to see who can do the most math, it’s to see who can come up with the best flavoured pie. I thought I’d share with you some of my favourites.

When I was little Thanksgiving was always at Grandma’s and she always went all out. She’d make an apple, pumpkin, and mince pie, but apple was definitely her specialty. When I got a little older she’d let me spend the night and help her put everything together. But even then, the pie was her secret.

When I got to university, I started making my own pie, partially because it was something I could make with ingredients almost completely scavenged from the cafeteria. They had butter for the bread – so that was easy; sugar for the coffee – again simple; apples. I managed to score some cinnamon from the coffee shop. All I needed to get from the store was flour, which for a poor student was pretty awesome.

Shortly after I started the blog, I made this pie… and it’s still my favourite. Ready? Just click on the picture for the link =)

done pic

3 comments on “Happy Pi Day!

  1. EmmaNutrition
    March 14, 2013

    Wow there is a Pi day?! Brilliant!

  2. myhealthyohana
    March 15, 2013

    Ooh, I love the idea of speculoos crust!! Happy pie day 🙂

    • Jessi
      March 15, 2013

      My favourite actually is a mixture of 2/3 speculoos crumbs, 1/3 crushed pretzels, but I discovered that after I made this pie =p

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 14, 2013 by in Baking, Recipes and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

