Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Tempting Tidbit Trials – The Perfect Cookie Base

Welcome back to Tempting Tidbit Trials, the feature where I try some of the recipes that I’ve featured on Temptation Tuesdays. This particular recipe was featured last week. It was billed as the perfect cookie base, useful for any cookie recipe. That’s something that sounded super attractive, so I decided to make it right away. Plus I had a bunch of leftover chocolate from the Bakemasters night, and a church event that was begging for cookies. As always, I’ll give you the original recipe with my adaptations and comments in teal. Enjoy =)

mixing it up

It started pretty simply – creaming butter and sugars, then eggs and vanilla. Next it was time to add the dry ingredients. Once that was all folded in the dough was super dry. I could hardly get it to come together. So I added a big scoop of yoghurt and then it was perfect!thick, dry dough I put in my add-ins and scooped out the dough. It was hard to keep my hands off it. This recipe definitely passed the dough taste test =p (wink wink)dough balls

They came out great – beautiful little cookies, with a rich caramel taste. tray of done cookies I made 4 different kinds. One of them I’m saving for later, but the others I’m excited to share. The first kind is caramel egg stuffed cookies. I took a tiny bit of dough, flattened it out, and then wrapped it around a frozen chocolate caramel egg. That’ll be a fun surprise for whoever picks it out of the box =)Caramel Egg Stuffed Cookies The next one is Daim & White Chocolate Speculoos Cookies. I had milk chocolate and Daim eggs and white chocolate speculoos eggs left over from the Bakemasters Easter Egg Extravaganza. I chopped up all that was left and mixed it into the dough. It smells delicious!Daim & White Chocolate Speculoos Cookies Inspired by Mrs Fields, I made these cookie sandwiches – two of the above cookie over stuffed with some serious frosting. These I’m saving for a special occasion. cookie sandwiches

All in all, I’m calling the Perfect Cookie Base a big success!Perfect Cookie Base

Here’s what you need:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 Tbsp cornstarch
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp kosher salt
  • 3/4 cup butter, room temperature
  • 3/4 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tbsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups your favorite candy or chocolate chips I used various kinds of mini chocolate eggs

Here’s what you do:

  1. Preheat oven to 350° 160C fan oven for me. In my oven that’s the go-to temperature. Do you find your oven has a go-to temperature? Ovens are funny that way.
  2. Line baking sheet(s) with parchment paper, set aside
  3. In medium bowl whisk together flour, cornstarch, baking soda and salt. Set aside.
  4. In mixer cream butter and both sugars together on medium speed, beating until light and fluffy 2-3 minutes. Turn mixer to low and add in egg and vanilla. Turn mixer back up to medium and mix until incorporated, scraping sides when necessary.
  5. Turn mixer to low and add in flour mixture until dough comes together. My dough did not come together. It was like crumbs. Eventually I added a big scoop of yoghurt and that seemed to solve it. It was still super thick, but that made it really easy to scoop.
  6. Stir in candy until evenly distributed.
  7. Drop by heaping tablespoon onto lined baking sheet and bake for 8-9 minutes until edges are just golden. Make sure not to over bake. I baked mine for 8 minutes. It was hard to see the browning, but I definitely wouldn’t want to leave them in longer. My advice take them out a tad bit earlier than you might want to.
  8. Remove from oven, let cool on baking sheet for 3 minutes, and then transfer to wire rack to finish cooling.

My Review:

I have a feeling this is going to become my go-to recipe. I really like the addition of corn starch. The taste is incredible. Unlike other thick doughs I’ve tried this one spread out nicely, but not too much. This is a really versatile recipe that I heartily recommend!

Other recipes you might like…

Chocolate Candy Cane Cookies

Chocolate Candy Cane Cookies

Peanut Butter Cup Cookies

Peanut Butter Cup Cookies

pumpkin oatmeal white chocolate chunk cookies

Pumpkin Oatmeal White Chocolate Chunk Cookies

2 comments on “Tempting Tidbit Trials – The Perfect Cookie Base

  1. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays | Doctorate Housewife

  2. Pingback: Tempting Tidbit Trials – Cadbury Cream Cookie Cups | Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 25, 2013 by in Baking, Recipes, Tempting Tidbit Trials and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

