Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Tempting Tidbit Trials – Cadbury Cream Cookie Cups

It’s time for another edition of Tempting Tidbit Trials, this time with Katrina’s Cadbury Cream Cookie Cups. They were featured on Temptation Tuesdays way back in 2012, but somehow I didn’t get around to trying them. This was obviously a major oversight that I didn’t want to make again this Easter season and so I put them on my Top Ten Tempting Tidbits list, making them a New Year’s resolution. I’m so glad I did! The filling really does taste like Cadbury Cream Eggs (which if you’ve been reading for awhile, you’ll know is a definite favourite!!!).

cadbury

And since you can make them with any cookie recipe you choose, there’s huge space for personalisation, something else I love! And now on to the trial. I made these cookie cups with The Perfect Cookie Base, another tempting tidbit trial. For a whole recipe, you start by baking your cookies in muffin tins, but since I was only doing a partial recipe, I just added a couple of silicon cups to my cookie tray.

Dough

With the cookies in the oven, it was time to mix up the cream. It’s deceptively simple. I say deceptively because if you look at the ingredient list on the back of a cream egg, you’d never guess that you could replicate it with so few ingredients. This is one of the things I love about copycat recipes – you get your favourite treats, without so much of the fake stuff.

making the creamAs you can tell from the blue egg filling, I may have looked in the cupboard only to discover I was out of yellow food colouring. No matter, it was just going to have to be a green blue eggs and ham kinda day. =p With the cookies done, it was time to make them ready for their filling. I used a spoon to create a crater and then came the hard part – waiting for them to cool!

cookie cup
Cadbury Cream Cookie CupsYum! And now for the review. As always, I’ll give you the original recipe with my adaptations and comments in teal. Enjoy =)

Here’s what you need:

  • Chocolate chip cookie dough, prepared or purchased I used this one
  • ½ Cup light corn syrup
  • ¼ Cup salted butter, softened
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 3 Cups powdered sugar
  • Yellow food coloring Or, um, blue =p
  • A bit of water – I found my cream came out a bit too thick for my liking, so I thinned it some (I think next time I’d just use less powdered sugar)

Here’s what you do:

  1. Heat oven to 350F 160C fan oven
  2. Make the cookie dough according to recipe instructions as normal. Grease muffin tins with cooking spray. Add about 3 tbs of dough to each cup. Bake for 12-15 minutes. Let cool 15 minutes in pan, middle will sink – though you can help it with the bottom of a cup or a spoon. I used a spoon.
  3. Meanwhile make the cream: Mix corn syrup, butter, and vanilla till smooth. Slowly add powdered sugar. Here’s where I probably should have been paying attention to directions and SLOWLY added the powdered sugar. I ended up with something that I felt was too thick and ended up having to thin it with water.
  4. Decant 1/4 of cream into a small bowl. Colour it yellow or blue with food colouring.
  5. Pour white cream into cookie cups. Add a bit of yellow to make it look like an egg.

My Review:

I think the greatest praise I can give it, is to say that it really really does taste like a Cadbury Cream Egg. I was skeptical at first, but it does, it really does. I love the idea of adding that cream to a cookie. The tastes complement each other nicely. Sure, it’s a lot of sugar, but you knew that when you read the name. My verdict – 2 big thumbs up!

You might also like…

Rice Krispie Easter Eggs

Rice Krispie Easter Eggs

Brown Sugar Easter Egg Cookies

Brown Sugar Easter Egg Cookies

Speculoos Oreo Truffles

Speculoos Oreo Truffles

 

 

 

 

One comment on “Tempting Tidbit Trials – Cadbury Cream Cookie Cups

  1. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays | Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 28, 2013 by in Tempting Tidbit Trials and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

