Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

It started!

Asbestos started 2

 

After two crazy weeks of emptying the upstairs and getting everything ready, this monday the asbestos removal work finally got started. The first three and a half days were all about preparation. I didn’t realise just how extensive the plastic wrapping was going to be- not that I mind. When it comes to hazardous materials I’m definitely a “better safe than sorry” kinda gal. Plus it meant I got to use the dishwasher a couple more nights then expected, woot!

Because there is asbestos on the landing of the staircase, the whole thing needs to be shut off, which means that we’ve lost access to our kitchen and living room. For now we’re camping in the basement with this, my make-shift kitchen:basement kitchen

No oven for a few weeks – ahhh =p Still between the hotplate, microwave, and waffle iron I’m sure I can make plenty of fun food. I also have some fun baked goods stored up for you now that I’m starting to get my bearings. These last couple weeks were hard, not just because we were trying to get ready for the asbestos removal and finish any site visits for the renovation that will follow, but also because one of our cats got sick. It took a couple of weeks of highs and lows and tests to find out what was going on, but in the end it was cancer. There was nothing we could do. So, Monday we had one last afternoon in the sun and then we said goodbye to Holmes.

RIP Holmes

 

This is Holmes. He was a great cat and he loved my lap the best and I miss him every time I sit down and realise my lap is empty. We’re just a one cat family now. Here’s hoping Jenny (Holmes’s sister) is around for a good long time yet…

Anyway, I just wanted to let you know dear readers that I haven’t forgotten you. I will be posting somewhat sporadically as the work continues. Thanks for reading and here’s hoping there’s sunshine where you are today =)

3 comments on “It started!

  1. Patty
    April 25, 2013

    Courage, in more ways than one, is all I can think…

  2. Jessi Mouqué
    April 26, 2013

    Thanks Patty!

  3. Pingback: 2013 Resolution Report Card | Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 25, 2013 by in Renovations and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

