Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

National Running Day and New Year’s Resolution Success

Hi Everybody and happy June =) Did you know that today is National Running Day? In honour of that and the fact that Brussels is finally experiencing some sunny weather, I plan to run this afternoon. How about you?

running half marathon

I may even wear this same outfit – minus the race number =p

Actually today’s run is one of the last runs on my 20k running plan, a recovery run… I have good news. I completed another one of my New Year’s Resolutions – I beat my former 20k time… by nearly 20 minutes!!! I worked hard to get there. I used My Asics (which I would totally recommend) to create a plan and then I stuck to it, logging 416km in 51 runs (an average of 3 a week). It looked like I would be able to do it, but I was still worried. The day eventually came, it was cold and threatening rain. I bundled up and walked over to the start with a couple of friends. We shivered and checked out some cool racing costumes (all the fruits from Oasis were in attendance) as we waited for our turn to depart (there were 36,000 participants). And then we were off. I didn’t think I’d be able to keep up with my friends. I lost them after a couple of kilometers, but then I found them again, and we ended up finishing at almost the same time.

Those last few kilometers were tough – they’re all uphill. I was slowing down. I even got passed by a Kinder Surprise Egg – yes that was a sight to see. And then on the final stretch I saw Hubby cheering and I got a burst of energy. I pushed hard up the final hill, on to the cobblestones (yes cobblestones) and through to the finish. I looked down at my watch 2:15:22, and knew I’d hit my goal. You can watch the video of me finishing here. If you do watch it, you’ll notice that it really was cold. Even at the end of the race, I still had my jacket zipped to the top and my gloves and headband on. After we stopped moving, it got even colder, so we skipped pictures and hurried home. But here’s a couple from after the fact…

P1020875 P1020877 diplome20km2013

 

Since June is the half way point for the year (ahhhhh, how did we get here?!), I’ve decided to make it New Year’s Resolution Check-Up month. I’ll try to post more often than I did in May and April and get back into the swing of things. I’ve missed you guys in the blogosphere. Here’s hoping you’re making steps towards completing your goals too. Happy running day =)

3 comments on “National Running Day and New Year’s Resolution Success

  1. Pingback: New Year’s Resolution Check-Up – No Seconds 2.0 and The Kitchen Safe!! | Doctorate Housewife

  2. Gemma
    June 15, 2013

    Congratulations on the great time!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 5, 2013 by in Fitness, Healthy Living and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

