Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

New Year’s Resolution Check-Up – No Seconds 2.0 and The Kitchen Safe!!

New Year's Resolution Check-Up

June- half-way through the year, and the New Year’s Resolution Check-Up continues. Today it’s time to get real about my 2013 No Seconds 2.0 challenge. But before I do, let me tell you about something I found this weekend. It’s called The Kitchen Safe and it has the tagline: “The time lock safe that puts you in charge.”

The Kitchen Safe, for just ONE cookie

You might be asking, “How could something that takes over control, put you in charge.” The answer is simple, exporting self-control to this device allows you to use your limited willpower reserves for other things. (Btw, If you want to read more on Willpower check out Kelly McGonigal’s book- The Willpower Instinct. It’s got lots of great tips!)

willpower book

Now, back to the kitchen safe…

TheKitchenSafe.com-MMs

It’s a clear container with a time lock lid. You put whatever’s tempting you inside, close the lid, and set the timer (anything from 1 minute to 10 days). You have 30 seconds to change your mind and then it’s done. The container won’t open until the time has elapsed. Even if the battery dies (or you take the batteries out =p) the lock won’t unlatch. The timer will simply resume counting once it has working batteries again. At the moment, it’s on KickStarter. But if they get enough backers by July 20th, they’ll make it. I really want one!! It’ll mean being able to keep Nutella or Speculoos (Biscoff) in the house without worrying without going crazy (or candy corn without having Hubby hide it for me =p). And you can use it for other things too – like your cell phone, game controller or even a credit card. (If you haven’t guessed, I’m a backer and I really hope they make it!)

kitchen safe cell phone

Seriously, where has this thing been all my life?! Here’s to a better toolbox. Let the No Seconds streak continue!

Speaking of which, it’s time for that report. The idea behind “No Seconds” was simple, a way to have your cake and eat it too… just eat ONE. If you’ve been reading for awhile, then you’ll know that this basic principle has been the backbone of many of my monthly Healthy Living Challenges. But I still struggled with it. So, in the new year I decided to make it a goal to cement the habit in 2013.

Healthy Living Challenge
Here’s how it’s been going…

In January I started with my 30 days till 30 challenge. But getting back into my pre-holiday routine was tough. I managed a mere 12 out of 30 days and my longest streak was only 3 days =( ugh!

eat better feel fitter spark challenge

February was better. Determined not to give up, I joined the Eat Better, Feel Fitter Challenge on SparkPeople with a goal of getting at least 21 days of no seconds, including a 7 day unbroken streak. I succeeded, but just barely – 22 days no seconds with an 8 day streak. Unfortunately though, on days where I didn’t succeed, I found myself going seriously overboard on treats.

So, in March I decided to push the challenge further. I aimed for 25 days overall with a 10 day streak. Plus I upped the ante and added a “no binges” goal. It didn’t go so well. I logged another 22 days no seconds, but failed on both the streak and no binges goal. =(

Undeterred I decided to try again in April. My plan was to bring out a new tool – accountability and log each week how it was going. But, at about that time we got news that our asbestos removal permits had come through and things got a little crazy. I failed to log it on the blog, but I did make progress. I made a fruit & vegetable chart and taped it to the cabinet. I made sure to drink loads of water. I even picked out a couple of motivational pictures from pinterest.

P1020561

I also tried to dissect my binges and figure out the triggers. No surprise really – it seemed to happen when I was most tired, stressed, or in need of “me” time, basically when my moral muscle was wiped out.

Well, I’m happy to report that April/May (with the asbestos work, the two kinda blended together) was much more of a success. I got my 10 day no seconds streak and I had a 20 day no binge streak, yay! June is off to a good start too. Only happy faces on my tick chart so far =D

How about you?

Are you a one cookie kinda person? What would you put in the kitchen safe?

5 comments on “New Year’s Resolution Check-Up – No Seconds 2.0 and The Kitchen Safe!!

  1. Patty
    June 10, 2013

    resolutions at a time of studying are very very difficult — it’s exactly as you described your “failure” time – it’s when I’m tired, stressed, desperately in need of “me” time. I do listen to me, though, and don’t push. Already I’m very good with breakfast (porridge) and dinner (yogurt) so lunch may go overboard. What would I put in the safe? cheese! it’s just not safe with me…

    • Jessi Mouqué
      June 10, 2013

      Lucky for you and your cheese the safe is fridge friendly =p Good luck with the exams, and well done for getting 2 of the 3 meals in check. Miss you!

  2. imarunner2012
    June 11, 2013

    Dessert. I can’t have a meal without something sweet right after. All weekend I pretty much stuck to having a few strawberries after a meal. But over the past week I have had a bowl of ice cream twice, with an entire banana. I figure the banana crowds out the extra scoop of ice cream and since it’s fruit, it has to be good for me.

    • Jessi Mouqué
      June 11, 2013

      Amen to the fruit…. ice cream is hard to say no to. Sadly, you can’t put the kitchen safe in the freezer, but maybe someday =p

  3. Pingback: 2013 Resolution Report Card | Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 10, 2013 by in Healthy Living, Nutrition and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

