Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Banana Mini Breads

It’s been awhile, but I have a recipe for you. The renovations continue. I’ve got lots of pictures of walls coming down. It’s getting exciting (and noisy). More on that later, but for now I have something tasty for you to do with some brown bananas. Anybody else have bananas speed ripening in this heat?!

Anyway, we had a party last Sunday and there were leftovers. Leftovers are always a really great excuse to do some baking. I had a half an egg, 2 browning bananas, a half a container of sour cream…

Last Import - 09

I knew exactly what I wanted to make – banana bread. When we were in the States visiting my parents, there was a glut of bananas. So I looked up a recipe and made a bread. It was tasty and it disappeared fast, but it wasn’t quite what I was hoping for. Banana bread is one of the few things I remember baking with my mom. She had this special slotted spoon that we would use to mash the bananas into smithereens. The bread was always moist and wonderful with these little black flecks (I’m still not quite sure what they were). My leftovers provided the perfect opportunity to try again. This time I went to my recipe book drawer. I wanted something more like a bread than a cake. Here’s what I ended up with.

Last Import - 15

I dug around my baking drawer and found these super cute mini loaf moulds. With the half egg and half container of sour cream, it was just enough for a half batch of banana bread or four mini loaves. Last Import - 11

Super cute and delicious, don’t you think!! =)

Last Import - 13

Banana bread, just like mom used to make – perfect still hot from the oven with the tiniest tab of butter melted over the top, yum!Last Import - 14

 

Wanna make some too?

Here’s what you need:

  • 75g softened butter
  • 1/3 cup packed brown sugar (75g)
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup self-rising flour (110g I used regular and added a pinch of baking powder)
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup mashed banana
  • 1/4 cup sour cream (60g)
  • 1tbs milk

Here’s what you do:

  1. Preheat oven to 375F (160C convection). Line muffin or mini loaf tins.
  2. Beat butter and sugar with hand mixer till light and fluffy. Add banana (you can pre-mash your banana or just add it in tiny chunks, the hand mixer will do the job of mashing and whipping the banana). Beat in egg. Then add dry ingredients.
  3. Pour batter into tins (3/4 full).
  4. Bake for about 25 minutes. (Don’t over bake or the bread can get dry.)

Enjoy =)

And now you?

What was your favourite thing to make with your mom, dad, or grandparents growing up?

You might also like…

pumpkin monkey bread

Pumpkin Monkey Bread

Apple Cinnamon Crumb Muffins

Apple Cinnamon Crumb Muffins

Blueberry Muffin for One

Blueberry Muffin for One

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 26, 2013 by in Baking, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

