Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Nutella Peanut Butter Pretzel Clusters

World_Nutella_Day_Final_m

Happy World Nutella Day! It’s another one of those unofficial official holidays that I just love. And yesterday the stars aligned for Bakemasters to celebrate. Everybody brought something either made with Nutella or to dip into Nutella. And so we ate and chatted and showed off our creations and chatted. It was practically perfect. Here’s my plate, chockfull of goodness =D

Nutella day plateOn the plate: fruit for dipping, Nutella banana swirl bread with nuts and coconut, Nutella cheesecake, Nutella banana muffin, and well, Nutella. There was also a Nutella tiramisu cookie creation rolled in coconut – don’t know how that missed the plate – yum yum! Go Bakemasters!

DSC_0134I got into Nutella when I studied abroad in France. It was magical tasting and for a poor student, it was an excellent calorie dense meal supplement. I mean it’s healthy, really =p It has low fat milk powder and healthy fat from hazelnuts  (or at least that was my excuse). Nutella and baguette became one of my favourite “meals”. Then I tried Nutella and banana – wow. And then I tried Nutella and peanut butter and banana (yes, I had my mom send me a giant jar of peanut butter!).

Then came the disappointment. I went home and discovered that the American version of Nutella was not so good. At the time they used a different recipe for the States that included hydrogenated oils and high fructose corn syrup. The taste was compromised and worse almost, the consistency was way off. So I pined after my cherished european Nutella, but largely forgot about it. (I think they’ve harmonised the recipes now…)

And then I moved to Brussels. Oh Nutella! It was maybe even better than I remembered. One day I had to make dessert for some student gathering and I had a brainstorm. I emptied a jar of Nutella and a jar of peanut butter into a bowl. Then I dumped in cornflakes. I scooped them out into little clusters. They didn’t quite hold their shape, so I melted chocolate and poured it on top to hold it together. It was mind blowing goodness. But Nutella is a dangerous substance to have around the house and the clusters were messy to eat, so I didn’t make it all that much.

Then a couple of weeks ago I was looking for a treat to make for a fellow chocolate-peanut butter lover and it hit me- PRETZELS… and more chocolate!Nutella Peanut Butter Pretzel Clusters - ingredientsI knew exactly what to do…Nutella Peanut Butter Pretzel Clusters - in the bowlDump peanut butter and Nutella in a bowl…
Nutella Peanut Butter Pretzel Clusters - swirled
Swirl it all around and add pretzels… Nutella Peanut Butter Pretzel Clusters - clustersScoop, freeze… Nutella Peanut Butter Pretzel Clusters - covered in chocolateCover in chocolate, and voila – Nutella Peanut Butter Pretzel ClustersWanna make some too? Just don’t say I didn’t warn you. Eating just one is NOT easy =)

Here’s what you need…

  • Nutella
  • An equal amount of peanut butter
  • Crushed Pretzels
  • White Chocolate (or chocolate of your choice)

Here’s what you do…

  1. Mix the chocolate and Nutella (the quantities are really up to you).
  2. Add crushed pretzels till the mixture is saturated and can kinda hold its own.
  3. Scoop little clusters onto parchment covered cutting board. Stick in freezer to harden for at least 30 min (longer is better, but patience is difficult).
  4. When you’ve waited long enough, melt your chocolate (best tempered, but the microwave and stir method works too =p)
  5. Take it out of the freezer and tear parchment in half or thirds. Remove a portion, put the rest in freezer (they get soft quickly!)
  6. Use a fork to dip each cluster into the chocolate. Completely cover and then shake off (or let drip off) excess. Return to parchment to dry. Repeat until finished. Enjoy =)

And now you…

What’s your favourite Nutella-based treat? Happy World Nutella Day everybody!! =)

One comment on “Nutella Peanut Butter Pretzel Clusters

  1. Pingback: Top 3 posts from 2014 | Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 5, 2014 by in Bakemasters, Baking, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

