Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

A Couple Weeks of Chocolate

I don’t know about you, but for me February means chocolate. It all starts with World Nutella Day, and then my birthday, and then Valentine’s Day (which is also our wedding anniversary). And this year, what is normally a heavy-on-the-chocolate kinda season became even more so.  The Salon du Chocolat  came to Belgium this year for the first time AND… it opened on my birthday. Hubby took the day off and went with me. (Warning: this post is pretty much going to be pictures of chocolate. If you’re trying to eat “clean” this month, you may just want to look away now =p Or if you’re in the middle of the polar vortex, this might be just the cheering up you need =D) We started it off with a workshop, where we learned to make our own Nutella.

DSC_0182 DSC_0187 DSC_0186 DSC_0189 And we got to bring home what we made – yummy yum. It didn’t quite achieve the consistency of Nutella that I love so much, but it did inspire me to try again. Once we were finished we wandered around the various booths and demonstrations. All the major chocolate makers were there and almost all of them offered free samples – YUM! DSC_0196Here’s the lady from Marcolini’s explaining about cocoa beans…
DSC_0198
And the Neuhaus chef mixing up a praline cream… DSC_0201Oh, did I mention the chocolate fashion show…DSC_0202And chocolate art…DSC_0203And chocolate shoes!DSC_0205 DSC_0206Yum yum yum. Once we couldn’t eat any more chocolate, we went home for a nice cup of tea, but the chocolate fun didn’t end there. The Salon du Chocolat was also the kick-off for Brussels Week of Chocolate and I bought a ChocoPass, that is for the low low price of 6€ I got to wander around the center of town and go from chocolate shop to chocolate shop. The ChocoPass included 10 sample tickets. I presented them to the shop assistant and then got to choose one of whatever I wanted. Here are some pictures of my stroll through the chocolate land that is Brussels city center.DSC_0218 DSC_0219 DSC_0220 DSC_0221 DSC_0222 DSC_0223 DSC_0224 DSC_0225I hope you enjoyed this little escape from reality straight into something from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Next time I’ll post a resolution review. January may be over. February may be chocolate themed, but I’m not giving up on healthy habits… at least not yet =p

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 21, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

