Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

New Year’s Resolution Check-up – The Half Way Point

Wow, 6 months into 2014 already! It’s time for a New Year’s Resolution update, a little report card to see how I’m doing. Let’s take it one category at a time. First…

Health and Fitness resolutions

  1. Establish good habits early and not gain weight in January/February. Go into the Spring feeling healthy and strong. Thanks in part to the kitchen safe and the book Brain Over Binge, I managed to get my sugar cravings under control and have had a completely sugar binge free February onward – my longest streak ever (granted morning sickness probably played a roll here too)! The second half of January was a bit tough. It turns out that was at least partially hormone related, as that’s exactly the time I got pregnant. My kitchen safe
  2. Up my NEAT (None Exercise Activity Time) and aim to get 10k steps a day. I’m really proud of this one. Even with morning sickness and exhaustion, I’ve managed to get an average over 10k steps a day. The way I work it is that I try and get the steps everyday, but if for some reason I can’t, another day that week must make up the difference. I really think having the BASIS health monitor has helped. I look down and instantly know whether I’ve done it or not and it helps keep me motivated. Plus walking seemed to help with the nausea, so that was certainly a motivating factor =pbasis band
  3. Strengthen my core with 10 min pilates every work day AND take pilates class (starting in February in keeping with the don’t try to start everything all at once principle). After making this goal, a friend introduced me to Friskis, a Swedish aerobics class that involves a decent amount of core and strength work. I decided that Friskis classes would count instead of the 10 minutes a day. I also signed up for a pilates class at the local community center. I went for the first couple months, but then it got kinda difficult with the pregnancy. I’ve continued core work, strength training, and running, but this resolution has had to adapt with the times.
  4. For my mental and spiritual health- journal again. Like last year, this resolution went really well for the first couple of months. But then the pregnancy fatigue hit and my nighttime journal time got enveloped into sleep time and I never really found an alternative slot. I’ve journaled on and off, but not consistently. This is one I want to improve in the second half of 2014.
  5. Improve our family’s nutrition- cook more fish, lentils, and beans! Once a week at least for each of those things. This one I’ll take half the points for. I now cook fish at least once a week, but the lentils and beans are more sporadic. I’m willing to try this one again after the pregnancy and the weird food aversions are over. Here’s one of the salmon recipes I’ve tried.

salmon

 

The health and fitness goals have gone pretty well. My aim for the second half of 2014 is simply to keep exercising, keep getting my steps, and have a healthy pregnancy, delivery, and recovery. So far I’ve logged 92 workouts (not counting NEAT and walks), almost 10 more than last year and I feel pretty proud of that. I’m also hoping to keep my binge free streak going. I know that more tiredness is in my future. I want to cement the healthy habits now so that when I feel like a zombie later I’ll reach for an apple and a glass of water instead of a cookie all the sugar in the house =p

baking resolutionsLet’s start with the 10 recipes on my Must-Bake list…

 

So I’ve hit 4 out of 10 on my must-bake list for the year. 1 a month for the rest of the year and I should be able to reach this goal. I also checked my new recipes spreadsheet. I tried 55 new recipes in the space between January and June, just 1 less than last year (not bad for a period with a lot of morning sickness). I have a few favourite finds. Here are my top 5:

Salted Caramel Blondies by Brown Eyed Baker – I can’t even tell you how amazing these are!!! I made them with lactose-free cream and butter (for a friend with allergies), but apart from that I stayed true to the recipe. This is one you’re going to want to under bake slightly, but WOW!!

It’s It’s by The Domestic Rebel – It starts with the most perfect oatmeal cookies, then your favourite vanilla ice-cream and chocolate. These are going to be  freezer staple from now on.

Peanut Butter Caramel Ice-Cream – I’ve been experimenting with ice-cream now that it’s warm again. This flavour combo is all me (I owe you a post on it soon), but it’s based on this vanilla ice-cream recipe from Simply Scratch, which is going to be my new go-to.

Nutella Cookies by Tasty Kitchen – These are so simple to make and so delicious. The dough is really dry, but don’t let that bother you. The cookies end up moist and delicious. I added white chocolate chunks to push this one over the edge.

Lazy Pizza Dough by Smitten Kitchen – The only trick with this one is that you can’t decide you want pizza last minute, but that’s the only down side. Makes for an excellent pizza!

resolutions And everything else

  1. Blog again – I’ve missed doing it and I’ve missed the interaction with readers and other bloggers. Here’s my promise to try and get you a new post at least once a week. Ok, so you’ve probably noticed I didn’t blog once a week. In fact, since January I’ve only managed to publish 15 posts. I started strong with a post a week in January and February, then only 1 post for each of March and April and 2 for each May and June. I’d like to go back to once a week. It may end up and utter fail, but I promise to try and at the very least get more than 15 posts for this next 6 months.
  2. As self-proclaimed Keeper of the Memories – email a picture a week to family and see if they’ll do the same 🙂 This hasn’t been perfect, but pretty good, especially now that I have bump pictures to send out every week.
  3. Since good social ties with family and friends is a secret of happiness and we live far away from a lot of our most cherished people -FaceTime or Skype someone every week AND keep writing my gram. I mostly managed this one too. It hasn’t been a completely consistent once a week, but it’s been regular and i’m good with that. I’m hoping to do even better in the next 6 months.

I’ve learned in the last 6 months, that like a lot things, this kind of habit is a lot about finding a good routine and sticking to it. Something that has helped is to find a good time slot, set a reminder on my phone, and then just do it even if it’s not perfectly convenient right then. Now to find a good blogging slot =p

Thanks for reading and now you…

How are your New Year’s Resolutions going?

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 5, 2014 by in Healthy Living, Recipes, Tempting Tidbit Trials and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

