Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Tempting Tidbit Trials: Honey Cornbread Muffins

honey corn muffins

Another one crossed off my must-bake list. This time I went for the warm comforting Corn muffins. And they were delicious- dense, sweet, and just perfect with a spread of butter. Corn muffins are one of my all-time favourite things. For me a muffin is only a muffin if it’s more like bread than cake, has a decent crumb, and is not too sweet. And there are generally 2 acceptable flavours: blueberry and corn. Last year I tried a single serve muffin recipe that stole my heart. And while that one is still the winner when I want something quick and small, this one is great for a batch. Serve it with brunch or as a side with chilli. You won’t regret it.

This recipe is by Sugarcrafter. As always with my Tempting Tidbit Trials section, I’ll write the recipe as is then add my notes in teal. As you can see, they baked up into perfect domes – always a sign of a good muffin!

honey corn muffins oven

honey corn muffins ready to eat

Here’s what you need:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup honey – I used creamy honey. If your honey has a strong taste you might want to reduce the quantity a bit. I would next time.
  • 1/2 stick unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 1/4 cups cornmeal
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar

I did a half batch (half of the above ingredients) – yield 6 muffins, so as not to eat all of them myself =p

Here’s what you do:

  1. Heat oven to 400F and line muffin tin.
  2. In a small bowl, beat eggs. Add milk, honey, and butter till combined.
  3. IN a medium bowl whisk dry ingredients.
  4. Add wet ingredients to dry and combine. Don’t over mix.
  5. Fill each muffin 3/4 full and bake for 12-15min till golden brown.
  6. Ket cool on wire rack and enjoy =)

My take:

These are a definite keeper. LIke I said in the ingredients section, if you use a strong flavoured honey you might want to reduce the quantity a bit, but a part from that these are really yummy, just what a corn muffin should be!

And now you…

What recipes have you been trying and loving? Leave a comment and share a link.

One comment on “Tempting Tidbit Trials: Honey Cornbread Muffins

  1. Pingback: 2014 Resolution Report Card | Doctorate Housewife

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 16, 2014 by in Baking, Recipes, Tempting Tidbit Trials, Uncategorized and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

