Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Second Trimester

These last months have flown by. August disappeared at crazy speeds and now we’re most of the way through September. Ahhh. Each week the baby grows and grows. It’s so hard to believe. Here’s a quick look at my second trimester.
image

From about 17 weeks, middle of the second trimester
image
22 week morphology scan and all looks good…

image
After first prenatal yoga class at 25 weeks
image

Standard gestational diabetes test – not fun, but I passed with flying colours 🙂
image

And one from week 27, the last in the second trimester.

Thoughts and symptoms:
Well, for me at least the second trimester was not all magical as people describe. The nausea slowly subsided though and I wasn’t as tired as in the first trimester, but I can’t say I felt “normal”. Rib pain and difficulty sleeping were more the name of the game. (that’s one they don’t really tell you about, but your rib cage opens up to allow room for the other organs being pushed out by baby)

I did get to start feeling the baby kick, which was pretty cool and after my ribs adjusted to their new more open position, sleep returned. Speaking of kicking, that’s a pretty fun experience. At first it’s like my stomach was growling, then it became obvious movement, and then like someone was doing a jig. As baby gets stronger and still has room, it’s a bit like getting punched in the stomach from the inside. It doesn’t necessarily hurt, but it can catch you off guard. Babies tend to be lulled to sleep when you’re moving, which means they’re most active when you sit or rest or try and sleep. It’s not always convenient but it’s reassuring to know the little one is doing well in there 🙂

At the end of the second trimester, I did start to feel normal or at least more normal. Energy returned, whohoo! And now I’m solidly in the third trimester – almost 36 weeks. I’ll have a report on that for you soon…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 29, 2014 by in Baby.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

