Doctorate Housewife

What my degree in IPE didn't teach me about baking, DIY, fitness, and life…

Tempting Tidbit Trials – Single Serving Blueberry Muffins

Welcome back to Tempting Tidbit Trials, a place where I test the recipes I’ve featured in the Tempting Tidbits section of Temptation Tuesdays. Today I’m reviewing Chocolate Covered Katie’s Single Serving Blueberry Muffins which I featured on Temptation Tuesdays in January. I was really excited about this one. I love a good muffin and a good single serving recipe. So here we go…

Single Serving BlueberryI grant you that it doesn’t look pretty, but that’s not the recipe’s fault. I decided to use the small spring form pan instead of a muffin pan because I didn’t want to waste any of the wonderful looking batter with overflow that landed on the oven floor and it looked like there was a bit much to fit into a single muffin tin. So it ended up looking like a scone, but it tasted like a muffin – a wonderful muffin! Want to make one too? (The original recipe is in black with my comments in teal.)

Here’s what you need:

  • 3 tbsp spelt flour (30g) (or ww pastry, white, or Bob’s gluten-free) I used white flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • heaping 1/16 tsp salt Who has a 1/16th measure? I went with a pinch
  • 1-2 tbsp blueberries (fresh or frozen)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract I used a 10g packet of vanilla sugar to cover this and the sweetener
  • 1 tbsp unrefined coconut oil (You can sub a different oil; however the coconut oil gives it a rich flavor and fun texture. You can use applesauce for a fat-free version.) I had vegetable oil and so I used that, but cut it down to 1/2 tbs
  • 1 tbsp plus 1 tsp milk of choice (Use less if using liquid sweetener.) As I used a dry vanilla, I went for 2 tbs of skim milk
  • 1 tbsp sugar (or 1 packet stevia) I omitted, but most people will want some sweetener

Here’s what you do:

  1. Preheat your oven to 330 degrees. (Or see microwave note, below.) I went with 160C in my fan oven.
  2. Mix dry ingredients, then add wet. Mix until just combined (don’t overmix).
  3. Bake for 17 minutes or so. (Baking time will vary, depending on the flour and oil/applesauce you use.) Mine is done in 8-9 minutes

My review…

These are so so awesome and so easy. The fact that they don’t require an egg, or more annoyingly part of an egg, is a real bonus. The texture is light. The crumb is perfect. It’s the idea muffin – not too sweet, just right. I liked it so much that I thought I’d try it with my second favourite kind of muffin – corn. For that I simply scrapped the blueberries and substituted 1 tbs flour with 1 tbs cornmeal. It resulted in the best corn muffin I’ve had in ages! I’ve made it at least half a dozen times since, yum! Well done Katie!

corn muffin
My verdict – 2 thumbs way up!

9 comments on “Tempting Tidbit Trials – Single Serving Blueberry Muffins

  1. Pingback: Temptation Tuesdays | Doctorate Housewife

  2. myhealthyohana
    March 15, 2013

    I’m so glad you posted about this, I’ve been wondering if this is good! Looks yummy 🙂

    • Jessi
      March 15, 2013

      Hey, missed you. How’ve you been? Oh and yes, this is DEFINITELY worth making!

      • myhealthyohana
        March 16, 2013

        I’ve missed you too, Jessi! Been better, but finally getting back into the swing of things! I always have a hard time with transitions…do you feel that as you get older, you understand yourself better, so it’s not such a surprise when you run up against your limitations? 🙂 How are you doing?

      • Jessi
        March 16, 2013

        Transitions are always tough. As I get older I think I’m less surprised by the things that get to me, but I’m not sure that makes me handle them better =( Still working on that. I’m doing well though. Hubby and I are embarking on our next renovation adventure and it’s pretty full-on. I can’t wait to see what it’ll all be like by 2014 =)

      • myhealthyohana
        March 18, 2013

        Ooh, what does the renovation entail?

      • Jessi
        March 18, 2013

        There’s asbestos to get rid of, the roof to do, and the transformation of the upstairs. The latter is where the fun is. I’m hoping to share the plans on the blog very soon =)

  3. Pingback: Best of 2013 | Doctorate Housewife

  4. Pingback: Tempting Tidbit Trials: Honey Cornbread Muffins | Doctorate Housewife

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on March 6, 2013 by in Tempting Tidbit Trials and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories